Homeward Bound: Why Being a Homebody is Better These Days

couch-potato     As time goes by, I’m realizing how much I like being at home more, versus going out these days. I don’t know if it’s because I’m getting older or if I think the bar scene is just getting old. I think it’s a combination of both, along with the fact that I live in a boring place here in Pennsylvania. But I’ve talked to my friends, and other people in general, and they also feel the same way. With smart TVs becoming more popular, and Netflix and Hulu Plus coming out with more content, it makes it so easy to just trade-in a night out getting wasted, to watch that last episode of Orange is the New Black.

As I had mentioned from the 5 Reasons Why the Nightlife Sucks post, you can get a 12-pack of beer or some bottles and have friends come over to chill. Most people don’t have money these days, so thats a main reason as to why there is a growing epidemic of video-games being played, and Netflix being watched. Think about this, all these gadgets or electronics (smart tvs, laptops, phones, tablets, etc) all have the same apps that we use for pure entertainment. Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Netflix, and Hulu Plus, are the main apps that are usually preloaded onto alot of these devices for us to always have our eyes glued to the screen. I mean why go out when you have hundreds of movies that you can watch on your bended iPhone 6 Plus. There has never been a better time to be a couch potato, although I still want to go out of course, it just depends on where I’m going.

Recently, I heard about this new thing called FOMO (fear of missing out) and it pretty much has teens and young adults feeling a need to go out to every party, or every event, just so they don’t feel left out. But maybe this really is a age thing, or more so a sense of maturity, realizing that you don’t need to go out to everything just to feel special, and also being aware that there are other things that’s more important. I’ll tell you this. I went out to a bar with a few friends recently, and I was so bored. Not bored with my friends, but just bored with the environment. I was looking around, and I was telling myself, “this is the same thing over and over again.” It’s just people drinking and getting drunk every weekend. Not that these things can’t happen, but if you religiously go to the bar every weekend to get sh*tfaced, you need a new hobby. Like I said, I’m not the only one thinking like this because that same night I was at the bar with my friends, one of them tapped me on the shoulder and said he was bored as well, and rather be home doing something else. Also, you have to think, as you get older, more and more things are “been there, done that” and the urge to have to do certain things or go to certain places, shouldn’t be so strong. I’m at the point in my life where I still enjoy going to the bar & partying it up, but I also don’t mind staying in some weekends. More so, I’m definitely interested in traveling alot more these days. When I think about traveling to different places, that’s where my urge in going out is at this moment. So if I’m not traveling to London or Dubai, please miss me with the bar scene, I’ll be comfortably at home re-watching all the seasons of The Walking Dead to gear up for the new season.

Photo Courtesy: Google 

Sources: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/unwritten/staying-in-is-fomo-peer-pressure_b_4975089.html

 

One thought on “Homeward Bound: Why Being a Homebody is Better These Days

Leave a comment